© 2022 WEKU
Central and Eastern Kentucky's Radio News Leader
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Woodford County teacher named Kentucky High School Teacher of the Year

Gov. Andy Beshear Youtube
Woodford County teacher Amber Sergent receiving the KY High School Teacher of the Year award

Kentucky has named their teachers of the year. The overall winner is middle school teacher Mandy Perez of Crittenden County. The high school teacher of the year is Amber Sergent of Woodford County. The finalists gathered in Frankfort for the first time in two years due to pandemic forcing the previous two ceremonies to be virtual.

During her acceptance speech, Sergent said she is amazed by the students she gets to work with.

“Thank you for giving me this time to devote and to dedicate and speak, and to speak about these amazing kids these days, who are so courageous and so inspiring, and that defy every negative stereotype you have ever heard when they’re put in quotation marks.”

During the ceremony Governor Andy Beshear thanked teachers for everything they do for Kentucky’s children.

“You’re changing lives, you’re building up lives, you’re breaking cycles of poverty, you’re helping kids at sometimes their most vulnerable times, you’re helping them get services that they need. The way that you care, is pretty incredible.”

Middle school teacher Mandy Perez from Crittenden County was named teacher of the year. Each finalist received three thousand dollars with Perez also getting ten thousand dollars for the top prize.

**In a sea of partisan news, WEKU is your source for public service, fact-based journalism. Monthly sustaining donors are the top source of funding for this growing nonprofit news organization. Please join others in your community who support WEKU by making your donation.

Stan Ingold is WEKU's News Director. He has worked in public broadcasting for 18 years, starting at Morehead State Public Radio before spending the past 10 years at Alabama Public Radio. Stan has been honored with numerous journalism awards for his public radio reporting.
WEKU depends on support from those who view and listen to our content. There's no paywall here. Please support WEKU with your donation.