© 2024 WEKU
Lexington's Radio News Leader
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

June town halls seek to improve Kentucky foster care system, address substance use disorder


A series of virtual town halls that look to improve the Commonwealth’s foster case system are scheduled in June.

The town halls are hosted by the Citizen Foster Care Review Board every six months. This set will focus on substance use disorder, which board members say is one of the top reasons children are placed in foster care.

““It's a very common theme,” board director Steven Farr said. “In the cases that we see often, the reason that a parent is struggling to adequately parent their children is because they're struggling with substance abuse issues.”

Farr says the discussions at these meetings are brought to the governor and state legislature.

“What we find is that there are some services that are very available in one part of the state but maybe pretty sparse in other parts,” Farr said. “And so that helps us report that information then to our state government.”

The town halls are scheduled for June 3, 5, 11 and 14 and are divided by region:

June 3 from 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m CDT/12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. EDT for Allen, Ballard, Barren, Breckinridge, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, Daviess, Edmonson, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, LaRue, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Meade, Metcalfe, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Ohio, Simpson, Todd, Trigg, Union, Warren and Webster counties, with registration available here.

June 5 from 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m CDT/12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. EDT for Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Elliott, Floyd, Green, Greenup, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Magoffin, Marion, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Taylor, Washington, Wayne, Whitley and Wolfe counties, with registration available here.

June 11 from 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m CDT/12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. EDT for Bullitt, Fayette and Jefferson counties, with registration available here.

June 14 from 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m CDT/12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. EDT for Anderson, Boone, Bourbon, Boyle, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Clark, Estill, Fleming, Franklin, Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Harrison, Henry, Jessamine, Kenton, Lee, Lincoln, Madison, Mason, Mercer, Nicholas, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Robertson, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble and Woodford counties, with registration available here.

Those interested can email cfcrb@kycourts.net.

** WEKU is working hard to be a leading source for public service, and fact-based journalism. Monthly supporters are the top funding source for this growing nonprofit news organization. Please join others in your community who support WEKU by making your donation.

Shepherd joined WEKU in June 2023 as a staff reporter. He most recently worked for West Virginia Public Broadcasting as General Assignment Reporter. In that role, he collected interviews and captured photos in the northern region of West Virginia. Shepherd holds a master’s degree in Digital Marketing Communication and a bachelor’s in music from West Virginia University.
WEKU depends on support from those who view and listen to our content. There's no paywall here. Please support WEKU with your donation.
Related Content