© 2024 WEKU
Lexington's Radio News Leader
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

More Kentucky Counties Approved For FEMA Individual Assistance

Corinne Boyer
In March, flood waters reached the roofs of homes and submerged cars in Lee County.

The list of eastern Kentucky counties now eligible for federal disaster assistance after being hit by floods earlier this spring has grown.

Gov. Andy Beshear said on Friday that his request for individual assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency has been approved. That means individuals affected by flooding in Anderson, Fayette, Jessamine, Laurel, Madison, Warren and Woodford may now apply for aid that includes low-cost loans and grants.

FEMA individual aid is also available counties that were already approved for public assistance. They include Boyd, Clark, Franklin, Greenup, Jackson, Knott, Lawrence, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pulaski and Rockcastle counties. 

The state estimates the addition of these 22 counties will help hundreds of people who were displaced by flooding that occurred in late February through early March. Residents may apply online at DisasterAssistance.gov.

If you appreciate access to this important content during this global pandemic, please help us continue to provide public service journalism and information to Central and Eastern Kentucky communities. Please make your contribution to WEKU today.

WEKU depends on support from those who view and listen to our content. There's no paywall here. Please support WEKU with your donation.
Related Content